Life & the Commute, What’s Behind the Name?

I’ve always been a commuter, and I’ve had my car for 5 years. For college, all 4 years, I commuted from home and to school, and I also commutedย about a year for work. Driving on the highway is the easy part because I can speed through the cars, but hitting the lights, traffic, and occasional rainstorm are the parts that slows me down to my destination. I have spent roughly a total average of 1.5 hours everyday just driving. Driving can be a pain, but it provides a great escape from reality, and I can focus on my thoughts. In my car, I reflect on my days and nobody can interfere with my mind. Although I would prefer living in an area that emphasizes public transportation.

IMG_20160802_201627
Life is a highway, and I don’t want to ride it all night long.ย 

I really don’t particularly enjoy driving, and when I’m not driving to work or school, my boyfriend would drive. He points out that he drives all the time when it’s only us in the car. When I’m the only person in the car, I’m singing and my thoughts are swirling around. My thoughts include: “Do I want to go to work? Am I in the right program for school? Will my boyfriend and I still be together after I finish school? Does he still like me? Will I get a better job? Will furthering my education give me the career I want? Am I taking enough risks? Can I quit life and travel with the money I saved up? How many kids will I have? Will I even get married?” As much I as I appear to be confident, there are those self doubts. I’ve been told I think too much and I over complicate and over analyze some of the most simple decisions. But are all decisions that simple? No, because there are opportunity costs.

But all of life’s question cannot be answered in a car ride. There are more questions than answers in my commute. Normally these “life questions” would stress me out, but when I think about them in my car- it’s not too bad.ย So the name of this blog is like a metaphor from my actual commuting experience and my journey of life, and currently I’m passing through my 20’s without using a GPS. Is that creative? Does it make sense? I don’t know, but it sounds fitting to me. I have over-romanticized what I want to be and life after college, but I’ve didn’t think about the curves and the bumps of getting to where I want to be. Slowly, but surely, I’ll get to my destination, but you know they say: “it’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey!”

So what have I been up to?

In the 2 weeks since leaving my first job, I:

  • Accepted and started a new job
  • Received my first freelance assignment
  • Read Reddit on how to avoid taking loans, and which loans are the best to take

—In the next post, I’ll talk aboutย my new job and why this job makes me nervous.

Leave a Reply

